Recycle, Repurpose, Reuse

I’ve been getting quite into doing my bit to save things from going to the tip. It’s also been a way that I can get things out of the house without my husband constantly saying ‘you can’t get rid of that!!’

Getting rid of clutter certain makes things much easier for me in the kitchen. Drawers and cupboards full of things I haven’t used for years and now the kids left home I never make enormous quiches etc so don’t need the large dishes and hundreds of plates, bowl and glasses.

It’s surprising when I put them on my local recycling group how many people would like the things I am getting rid of.

I have also been fortunate in receiving things that people don’t want and are clearing out. Believe or not a soupmaker which I now use almost every week, a windup radio that I use in my allotment shed and a pair of wellies 🙂

The recycling group collects all sorts and gets payment for the local school. I just can’t put the sheer amount of different things they collect. Crisp packets, bread packets, sweet packets, milk bottle tops, aluminium cases, old toothbrushes and toothpaste tubes etc. They also collect drink cans, corks, stamps and more for,other charities. Major aim is to avoid things just being dumped in the local tip.

If there is any group near you…do join. It certainly can help to avoid things just being dumped and so much plastic can be recycled now as well with many supermarkets getting on the bandwagon to use less plastic and help to recycle it. Oh also we always donate old glasses…spectacles ones to be reused….oh better stop now before I go one to more.

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Recycle, Repurpose, Reuse

  1. kaye steeper says:

    living in the bog end of nowhere theres not a lot you can recycle but i just wish we could have a bigger recycling bin from the council

    Like

Leave a comment